Death Valley II

“She walked in with sadness in her eyes. I can tell she’d been sleeping with the stars…”

Does anyone else feel like that when they emerge out of nature? It is like a longing for the expanse of scenery and heart; being back in civilization puts the sadness in your eyes. Vulnerable and raw from another amazing time in the valley of death, it’s vastness, diversity and extremes has transformed something inside of me. Perhaps a former wish finally died.

So beautiful in it’s stillness and quiet yet dangerous and severe. The roads just go on and on, somehow suddenly there is this random sand dune that you must straddle or you are 200 feet below sea level- licking the salt on the ground or walking on the rim of a giant crater or precariously balancing on a devil’s golf course and listening to it crackle in the sun.

Amargosa Opera House, wishing it was open
Amargosa Opera House, wishing it was open
Near: Texas Springs Campground
Near: Texas Springs Campground
Far: Texas Springs Campground
Far: Texas Springs Campground
Backyard: Texas Springs Campground
Backyard: Texas Springs Campground
Devil's Golf Course
Devil’s Golf Course
Furious Georgette
Furious Georgette
Artist's Palette via Artist's Drive
Artist’s Palette via Artist’s Drive
Candy Striker over Zabriskie Point
Candy Striker over Zabriskie Point
Dante's View
Dante’s View
Mesquite Dunes
Mesquite Dunes
Mesquite Dunes
Mesquite Dunes
Mesquite Dunes
Mesquite Dunes
Puppy named Nova on the Salt Creek Trail but no Pupfish
Puppy named Nova on the Salt Creek Trail but no Pupfish
Here fishy fishy.....
Here fishy fishy…..
Little Hebeeejeeebeee Trail
Little Hebeeejeeebeee Trail
Vibes over Big Ubehebe Crater
Vibes over Big Ubehebe Crater

IMG_2279

The desert inspires me into poetry like this homage to Dr. Clarissa Pinkola-EstĂ©s, the brilliant woman who penned my bible Women Who Run With The Wolves…

Rio Abajo Rio

The desert between us

decieves and tricks and with the

gusts of so thick, blinding winds.

Small cactus flower, I search desperately for

this nourishing river hidden below.

And like an earthly Prometheus,

it lies guarded and shallow.

What starves these petals

in vain I probe-

I know what the stars told me

and they continue their shine and brightly.

I see him in dreams, on streets, in fire light yet

I haven’t seen you at all.

Like that shifty dark sand,

my grip wants to close in only too quickly

you fall away.

So, so many moons new then full

and the many planets constructing the way.

When the light danced in your cave and a

tear fell down my cheek

most of what the desert is all dusty beneath.

But I could melt into this warmth and be taken away by

the rio abajo rio into a perpetual desert night.

Flowers close and wait and reach and cower,

stars twinkling turns to winking turns to shooting

turns to wishing.

3 thoughts on “Death Valley II

  1. Jenny – finally got to read your blog! I can’t tell you how envious I am. Wish I was a youngster again. I can truly say, “I knew Jenny when … .” It is beautiful and extremely well done. You should be proud of yourself as am I!!!

Leave a Reply

