Glacier and The Miracle of America Museum

I spent 3 glorious days in Glacier last week and was lucky enough to score one of the last campsites at Fish Creek Campground on Mcdonald Lake. Some things I learned quickly, Glacier is ginormous and the Going to the Sun Road, that connects it all, is epically long yet beautiful. I stayed on the east side of the park and made a promise to myself to come back another time and stay on the west side. I went as far as Logan Pass, which was good enough for me. I also learned that in Glacier you need to start early during high season. People come out in force once 9AM rolls around and there are very limited places to park. Glacier is in denial that it’s a big park. It’s shuttle system is weak and pales in comparison to Zion’s. They only let on a few people at each stop and run every 30 min +. I don’t know about you but after hiking 12 miles, the last thing I want to do is wait in a line to get on some shuttle.

Mcdonald Lake from Fish Creek
Mcdonald Lake from Fish Creek

Fish Creek was lovely and lively and luckily right on a lake so I could float in my tube, which I did every single day. I also went to two interp night programs, one on water birds and one on creatures of the night. I just love getting my interp on.

If you do one hike it simply must be the Highline Trail. It is unlike anything I ever seen and my eyes wanted to pop out of my head from the beauty. It does parallel the Going to the Sun road and you hear cars sometimes but soon enough, you are wondering if the sound you hear is a car or a waterfall. I passed 10+ waterfalls/weeping rocks along the trail as well as MOUNTAIN GOATS! I have never seen one so this about blew my mind. It is as long as you want to make it and some go all the way and do the Loop Trail. I was not one of those people, 12 miles was enough for me. I did see Grinnell Glacier, which looked like a mountain, as I walked past the Garden Wall with all the vegetation and waterfalls that make you think you are in some kind of jungle.

Crazy crazy goat.
Crazy crazy goat.
Amazing High Line views
Amazing High Line views
Nippley bear grass
Nippley bear grass
A different goat entirely, but still crazy.
A different goat entirely, but still crazy.
Then, he got on the move and wanted to hike with us. He was my own sherpa in reverse.
Then, he got on the move and wanted to hike with us. He was my own sherpa in reverse.
Crazy ass goat.
Crazy ass goat.
This goat was nuts, there were so many people around him and he didn't give a shit.
This goat was nuts, there were so many people around him and he didn’t give a shit.
This is my favorite picture of all time, a heavenly ground squirrel. He looked like a statue in this jesus beam of light and cracked my shit up. "Admire me and my furry cuteness under my personal spotlight."
This is my favorite picture of all time, a heavenly ground squirrel. He looked like a statue in this jesus beam of light and cracked my shit up. “Admire me and my furry cuteness under my personal spotlight.”
Going to the Sun road, even crazier than Hwy 1.
Going to the Sun road, even crazier than Hwy 1.

I have to interrupt this beauty with a recipe. I was googling around and found this Crescent Dog recipe and have to share it cuz it was delicious and easy. Why use a boring ass bun when you can wrap a wiener in a crescent and roast it over an open flame. I ate this several times. It does take about 10 times longer to cook than it does to eat it but if you had multiple sticks, maybe you can do two at once?

Anyways, get some wieners and some crescents and a good roasting stick. Wrap that wiener and stick it length-wise with the stick. Then sit back and be patient because you got to cook/slowly roast the dough, not burn it, and you def do not want to get sally-manilla from raw dough. Keep turning your wrapped wiener until it is golden brown. It’s so easy and good.

The set up
The set up
Slow roast that dog. Patience.
Slow roast that dog. Patience.
Taaaaaa fuggin' Daaaaa! You are welcome.
Taaaaaa fuggin’ Daaaaa! You are welcome.

Now, back to the beauty. If you do one more hike (on the east side) make it be Avalanche Trail. But you got to get there early or there will be no parking. I got there a little before 8 and was the only one on the trail and in the parking lot. It was stunning. Just when you start to feel tired, you arrive at this gorgeous lake with waterfalls draining into it. It’s blue but not as ocean blue and I wish I had my tube with me. I spent a while there, just gazing and then when I left, it was as though a tour bus dropped people off. I must have passed 100+ people on the way out. So take it from me, get there early. And if you want to have the best breakfast ever, stop by Apgar Village and go to Eddie’s to pick up 6 mini-donuts. They make em fresh, while you wait/watch and you get a coffee with em and boom. Breakfast of Champions.

Avalanche Lake
Avalanche Lake
Avalanche Creek, running wild
Avalanche Creek, running wild

Destination: Miracle of America Museum

As if my eyes hadn’t seen enough, I stopped by this crazy-ass museum on the way back, just past Flathead Lake in Polson, MT. I was speechless while walking around this megalopolis magnanimous multitudinous miracle of a museum. You just got to go there to know what I mean. I was greeted by Gil, the owner and collector. He gave me the rundown, told me where to start and off I went on the most mind blowing journey around his museum. Here is how it starts:

I tried to look for the nuances, like this random corner where the anti-drug campaign was, but there were just so many that I couldn't keep up.
I tried to look for the nuances, like this random corner where the anti-drug campaign was, but there were just so many that I couldn’t keep up.
Anne getting her perm.
Anne getting her perm.
Endless sea of everything
Endless sea of everything
NO PLINKING!
NO PLINKING!
And right across from this collection was the mousetrap collection.
And right across from this collection was the mousetrap collection.

Then, you pass this cafeteria like room with an old soda shop and buffalo mural and suddenly….

IMG_2920

You are outside in the village. I can only describe it as a bunch of small buildings, airplane hangers and barns full of memorabilia from Americana, late 1800’s on through late 1900’s, organized by themes. There is the hanger full of all snow sports stuff like toboggans, skis, snow mobiles, sleds etc. One full of vintage farming equipment, one full of fishing stuff…. 15+ tiny to large buildings, like a ghost town but full of stuff, endless stuff. I can’t even describe it so here are the pics.

IMG_2932

IMG_2931

A whole room/house dedicated to smoke jumpers.
A whole room/house dedicated to smoke jumpers.

IMG_2928

The barber shop, kiddie corner to the ladies salon filled to the brim with related things. Chairs, clothes, scissors, perms, oh my.
The barber shop, kiddie corner to the ladies salon filled to the brim with related things. Chairs, clothes, scissors, perms, oh my.
Of course there has to be a snoopy.
Of course there has to be a snoopy.
Outboard motors, tons and tons of them.
Outboard motors, tons and tons of them.
For my dad, like the shed in Mercer, times 100.
For my dad, like the shed in Mercer, times 100.
The blast off area
The blast off area

You just have to go, I could not possibly take enough pictures to justify the expansiveness of the compound and this one man’s vision. I asked Gil on the way out, if there is anything missing that he covets and he said the first car after the carriage and some bomb shell that I can’t remember the name. Simply amazing.

One thought on “Glacier and The Miracle of America Museum

Leave a Reply

