Arizona, so far

Say hello to my new backyard
Say hello to my new backyard

People have been wondering where I am, what I’m doing and what it all means, so maybe I need to write about Arizona, so far. At the end of August my time/internship in Montana came to a close and I spent a few weeks traveling from Colorado to Utah to California and finally landed in Parker, Arizona. Bill Williams River National Wildlife Refuge is my next ‘assignment’ until March, where I will be a Visitor Services and Interpretation Intern. What does that entail? Well it will eventually be me visiting local schools to deliver 20+ different outdoor education programs to 3rd graders, on up. There are community outreach events, such as river clean up and friends and family day as well as interacting with visitors in our small visitor center. We have an archery program that will start in the spring where I will be teaching kids how to shoot an arrow! I’ve also done some field work and even bush-whacked with a hand-held saw, helped trap/monitor small rodents and will possibly go E-fishing this month where we temporarily stun the fish with electricity to monitor them. Fish and Wildlife Service is a government agency whose mission is: “working with others to conserve, protect and enhance fish, wildlife, and plants and their habitats for the continuing benefit of the American people.” Boom. Those that know me best can understand how great of an opportunity this is for me, due to my extreme animal and outdoor love. What’s most peculiar to me are the many who ask, so what are you going to do next? There is one thing I know with utmost certainty and that is – I have no fuggin idea what is going to happen next. I am trying to be as present as possible and to experience as much as I can at this temporary position. That is all I know for now.

Honestly, Arizona has been a constant adjustment since I got here and just really tough for many reasons… personal and professional. It’s getting used to a place all over again, finding the restaurant that doesn’t smell like a toilet, discovering the place worthy of being called my local bar, figuring out why every deadly/venomous creature has to live here and come into/near my house, why people ride around in golf carts and do I need to get one to fit in, where can I hike with the least chance of getting bit by a mohave green rattlesnake, how tan can I possibly get before I turn crusty, do I need to invest in a bunch of muumuus and drink every beverage out of a ceramic pineapple to feel most myself here, am I trailer trash and if not what constitutes trailer trash, how hot is too hot and will I ever get used to this desert living? IMPORTANT questions like these… all while being isolated without my friends, family or coworkers around. Tough, yes. BUT HELL, it’s an adventure right? And a real pretty one, at that.

Really into photographing the sunsets here for obvious reasons...
Really into photographing the sunsets here for obvious reasons…
And by day... the Bill Will River
And by day… the Bill Will River
This looks fake but there are burros on the road here and they are so adorable. It's really sad though, because they are displaced because of developments and get ran over all the time. I want to start a burro rescue and give them a safe place to live.
This looks fake but there are burros on the road here and they are so adorable. It’s really sad though, because they are displaced because of developments and get ran over all the time. I want to start a burro rescue and give them a safe place to live.
I can't get enough of these sunsets
I can’t get enough of these sunsets
Scotty-zilla let me drive the boat around Lake Havasu! as part of my skipper/wake board driver training. Thank goodness Trust Fund Terror blood runs deep!
Scotty-zilla let me drive the boat around Lake Havasu! as part of my skipper/wake board driver training. Thank goodness Trust Fund Terror blood runs deep!
Amazing day on the lake! Thanks Scotty!!!
Amazing day on the lake! Thanks Scotty!!!
The badass ecologist I work with just laughs at me when I come into work with tales of woe, like this tarantula on my neighbor's stairs. That's right, neighbor, as in 8 feet from my front door neighbor.
The badass ecologist I work with just laughs at me when I come into work with tales of woe, like this tarantula on my neighbor’s stairs. That’s right, neighbor, as in 8 feet from my front door neighbor.
My first canoe outing since high school. Still got it!! (until it was up-river time and I spun in circles for dramatic effects)
My first canoe outing since high school. Still got it!! (until it was up-river time and I spun in circles for dramatic effects)
What I'm liking most about my new gig is the variety! I got to hang out with USGS and watch them launch a map-making drone.
What I’m liking most about my new gig is the variety! I got to hang out with USGS and watch them launch a map-making drone.
Hey-Oh, me amongst the Hualapai Mountains
Hey-Oh, me amongst the Hualapai Mountains
Cliff Rose Cabin, where my man and me glamped, escaping from the desert heat.
Cliff Rose Cabin, where my man and me glamped, escaping from the desert heat.
Gay-ass double rainbow, Arizona backyard style.
Gay-ass double rainbow, Arizona backyard style.
Another sunset?!?!?!?!
Another sunset?!?!?!?!
My new hood and my work. That's the penis-sula sticking out there and the start of the refuge.
My new hood and my work. That’s the penis-sula sticking out there and the start of the refuge.
6 thoughts on “Arizona, so far

  1. Looks like your adventures are extreme. Makes me want to hang with you for a long weekend. Keep blogging away. Miss ya and love ya. P.S. be careful with the arrows and children please. Xoxo

Leave a Reply

